Crazy Lineup: Bob Ross, Talking Books, and Lebron

You aren't ready for the amount of AI heading your direction...

Welcome to The Week in ChatGPT newsletter where we discuss the latest groundbreaking products powered by ChatGPT. If you have any that you would like to be featured, by all means please drop them here. Also, quick apology, the newsletter was supposed to be published yesterday at 11 am but apparently I am bad at clicking buttons. But anyways,

Let's bring the heat.

Do you hate making powerpoint slides (or at least want to speed up the process substantially)? Me too and don't even get me started on Google Slides. That could be a whole other newsletter. Powerpoint meet your competitor for the year: Tome!

PRODUCT 1: Tome  AI powered Presentations

While the name might bring to mind large, dusty books, Tome is actually the latest and greatest presentation software powered by a combination of ChatGPT and DALL-E 2. It will go and write an entire presentation based off a single prompt you make. And look! Google likes Tome so much that it page ranked it above the definition of the word tome! Now that's some excellent SEO optimization.

Well let's see how it works! I'll give it an example prompt and see if the generated presentation is up to snuff. For all the Bob Ross fans out there this presentation is for you.

Holy smokes! This presentation is actually really good. Check out the full presentation here. The last slide looks like this!

The only quirk about Tome is that generated pictures can sometimes look a little funky, but since I told it to make a presentation about a painter there was no problem, since it could just spit out some of his paintings.

Now I know I let some of you down because you thought Tome was going to be some cool AI book application from the name. And I'm sorry about that, but guess what? I found a library of talking books.

PRODUCT 2: Konjer  A Library of Talking Books

No, I don't mean Audio books. I mean you can have a conversation with a book.

^ This was my reaction when I found out about Konjer. Talking books! Are you kidding me?? That's incredible. You never have to be confused while reading a book again. You can simply ask the book to explain a passage in plain english and it will! I would have killed for something like this when I was reading Shakespeare. This application of AI still kind of blows my mind and has the potential to change the very way we experience books!

And while I was devastated to find out Harry Potter hasn't been made into a talking book yet, there's a bunch of other great books already available on the website. The guy who started Konjer, Mo, is hard at work fine tuning and uploading each of these talking books for people to enjoy. If you'd like to support Mo and his awesome work please visit this link and give the guy a donation or better yet buy a talking book from him (you can request any book, not just the ones on his site)! Also, if you are interested, please subscribe to his newsletter to get the latest on which books are coming to his site!

All right! Onto the last one for today. You may have heard of DALLE-2, ChatGPT's cousin, but that's not the only good generative image model on the market.

PRODUCT 3: Midjourney  Generate Images with Text 

So in case you missed it, computers can now make images from text-based prompts 😳. Popular models that can do this are DALLE-2, Midjourney, and Stable Diffusion. So why use Midjourney over DALLE-2? For me, it was a combination of running low on OpenAI's free credits and the downtime that happens when DALLE-2 is busy processing thousands of requests. I know deep down DALLE-2 is doing its best, but I'm impatient. Also, the cool thing about Midjourney is that you get access to the service through joining their Discord, so you can see what kinds of images people are making in the newbies channel. For example, if I were to pop in there right now and swipe the first picture I saw it would look something like:

The prompt for this one was literally Lebron as a SWAT soldier holding a gun. The same person submitted a request for Shakira too. I guess they really like to see celebrities hold guns? Not exactly sure what's going on there, but that's the beauty of open source models I guess. Oh and that's another thing about Midjourney that's different from other models: you can see how other people are constructing their prompts and learn from that to make your own. Cool stuff. I think I'm going to start including random images from the Discord in every newsletter issue. The inaugural image will be Donald Trump in the studio with rapper Lil Baby (I didn't know Donald was a fan of Hip Hop). It's hard to even tell that this image is completely fabricated which is both cool and scary. Cool because I can post myself with celebrities whenever I want. Scary for the same reason.

I'm curious to see what kind of images my subscribers can make. If you feel up to it, send me some of your favorites and which software you used to make it on Twitter @TheAIBloke.

And if you missed it last time the AI product everyone is talking about right now...

The power of CatGPT is awe inspiring.

Well that's a wrap on the second newsletter. So, did I bring the heat like I said I would? Let me know in the feedback form below and please donate if you have the time!

Let me know how I did by filling out this feedback form. If I did well and you're in the giving spirit please support the newsletter by buying me a coffee or donating to my gumroad page. Most of the money you donate to me will go back into purchasing AI products to try out and review on the newsletter. Bernie says it better:

Also if you have a product that you would like to be featured on the newsletter remember to add it here!

And for Pete's sake please BUY A TALKING BOOK FROM KONJER!! They're super cool!

Lastly, if you'd like to refer a friend just tell them to visit chatgptnewsletter.com to subscribe! Thank you!

Join the conversation

or to participate.